Subscribe to our Mailing List

Get the news right in your inbox!

Privacy Policy

End of Year Book Tag (2021)

December 6, 2021 in Book Tags
End of Year Book Tag

AD • Some of the books mentioned were sent to me by the publishers in exchange for a review however all opinions are my own.

It’s time for the end of year book tag! It feels like only yesterday that I filled this in last year – but at the same time it’s been such a weird year that it feels like a really long time ago? Does that make sense? It’s just been a very strange year in terms of pretty much everything. Anyway… the end of year book tag is a chance to look over the year’s reading. But also to think ahead to the future and make plans for the new year. So here we go…

CREDIT: The End of the Year Book Tag was created by Ariel Bissett.

Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?

Surprisingly, quite a few this year. Here’s a little list:

  • Even Greater Mistakes by Charlie Jane Anders (*review copy)
  • Fools in Love edited by Ashley Herring Blake & Rebecca Podos (*review copy)
  • Broken (in the Best Possible Way) by Jenny Lawson
  • The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
  • Social Warming by Charles Arthur
  • A Liberated Mind by Dr Steven C. Hayes
  • The Case of the Missing Marquess by Nancy Springer
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

I probably won’t manage to finish all of these this year but I’m hoping to finish the first four at least.

Do you have a book to transition into the end of the year?

No, not really. Seasonal books are always quite high up the priority list this time of year but nothing overly specific.

Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?

There aren’t too many December releases that I’ve got my eye on. Here are the select few that I am interested in picking up at some point:

What are 3 books you want to read before the end of the year?

Hmm. This was a hard one because my TBR is overflowing but I’ve narrowed it down to these 3.

Five Total Strangers by Natalie D. Richards

When Mira flies home to spend Christmas with her mother in Pittsburgh, a record-breaking blizzard results in a cancelled layover. Desperate to get to her grief-ridden mother in the wake of a family death, Mira hitches a ride with a group of friendly college kids who were on her initial flight.

As the drive progresses and weather conditions become more treacherous, Mira realizes that the four other passengers she’s stuck in the car with don’t actually know one another.

Soon, they’re not just dealing with heavy snowfall and ice-slick roads, but the fact that somebody will stop at nothing to ensure their trip ends in a deadly disaster.

The Husbands by Chandler Baker

Nora Spangler is a successful attorney but when it comes to domestic life, she packs the lunches, schedules the doctor appointments, knows where the extra paper towel rolls are, and designs and orders the holiday cards. Her husband works hard, too… but why does it seem like she is always working so much harder?

When the Spanglers go house hunting in Dynasty Ranch, an exclusive suburban neighborhood, Nora meets a group of high-powered women–a tech CEO, a neurosurgeon, an award-winning therapist, a bestselling author–with enviably supportive husbands. When she agrees to help with a resident’s wrongful death case, she is pulled into the lives of the women there. She finds the air is different in Dynasty Ranch. The women aren’t hanging on by a thread.

But as the case unravels, Nora uncovers a plot that may explain the secret to having-it-all. One that’s worth killing for. Calling to mind a Stepford Wives gender-swap, The Husbands imagines a world where the burden of the “second shift” is equally shared–and what it may take to get there.

The Sad Ghost Club by Lize Meddings

Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don’t belong anywhere? Like you’re almost… invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club.

This is the story of one of those days – a day so bad you can barely get out of bed, when it’s a struggle to leave the house, and when you do, you wish you hadn’t. But even the worst of days can surprise you. When one sad ghost, lost and alone at a crowded party, spies another sad ghost across the room, they decide to leave together. What happens next changes everything. Because that night they start the The Sad Ghost Club – a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don’t belong.

For fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who’s ever felt invisible. You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.

Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?

I mean… anything is possible, right? But I don’t think so. There have been a lot of fantastic reads this year that I can’t wait to share with you later this month. (Keep an eye out for that!)

Have you already started making reading plans for 2021?

You bet! Here are just a few of my reading plans or goals for the new year:

  • Read one non-fiction every month
  • Listen to at least 6 audiobooks
  • Read at least 3 anthologies
  • Complete the alphabet challenge
  • Read 15 books from the last 3 years of Goodreads Choice Awards shortlists
  • Participate in the Buzzwordathon reading challenge ran by Kayla @ Booksandlala

 

My Goodreads goal will be a little lower next year. I’m currently at ~125 books for this year and last year I managed 136 books. But I think I want to take a bit of the pressure off and just aim for 100 books. That’s still higher than the average reading goal and that’s a LOT of books. So yeah, that’s what my goal is for 2022.

Thanks for stopping by to read my end of year book tag. Have you started making reading plans for the next year? Are you taking part in any reading challenges? Let me know what you’re planning in the comments below.

Hayley @ Cosy Chapters

Thanks so much for reading! If you’ve enjoyed my content, please consider supporting me via the links below.

TwitterInstagramTikTokGoodreadsWishlist

Follow Cosy Chapters on WordPress.com
Hayley

I'm Hayley (she/her) and I'm more than a little bit bookish. Cosy Chapters is where I share all things book-related plus the occasional post about the cosy lifestyle. When I'm not reading, you'll find me spending time with my little family, rewatching sitcoms, planning the now somewhat elusive trip to Disneyland Paris and losing entire days playing ACNH.

All posts

1 Comment

  • Caroline December 19, 2021 at 12:17 pm

    The alphabet challenge sounds fun – I’ll have to do some research! I loved reading this tag, it’s fun to reflect on the past year of books x

  • Leave a Reply

    Welcome to Cosy Chapters!

    I'm Hayley (she/her) and I'm more than a little bit bookish.

    Cosy Chapters is where I share all things book-related plus the occasional post about the cosy lifestyle.

    When I'm not reading, you'll find me spending time with my little family, rewatching sitcoms, planning the now somewhat elusive trip to Disneyland Paris and losing entire days playing ACNH.

    Follow Cosy Chapters on WordPress.com

    Let's Connect!

    @cosychapters

    Archives

    ×