Subscribe to our Mailing List

Get the news right in your inbox!

Privacy Policy

Far From the Light of Heaven by Tade Thompson

December 7, 2021 in Book Reviews
Far From the Light of Heaven by Tade Thompson - Book Review

AD • I received a copy of this book in exchange for a review however all opinions are entirely my own.

Happy 7th of December, friends! Are you feeling festive yet? I’m currently wrapped up under the cuddliest of teddy blankets with the Christmas tree lights twinkling out of the corner of my eye. But alas, today’s post isn’t all that Christmassy. It’s a review of an awesome sci-fi mystery that I read recently – Far From the Light of Heaven by Tade Thompson.

And oh my goodness. If you’re even vaguely intrigued by the idea of a locked room mystery IN SPACE then you’ll want to pick this one up ASAP. Here’s what you need to know…

Synopsis

The colony ship Ragtime docks in the Lagos system, having travelled light years from home to bring one thousand sleeping souls to safety among the stars.

Some of the sleepers, however, will never wake – and a profound and sinister mystery unfolds aboard the gigantic vessel. Its skeleton crew are forced to make decisions that will have repercussions for all of humanity’s settlements – from the scheming politicians of Lagos station, to the colony planet of Bloodroot, to other far flung systems and indeed Earth itself.

  • murder
  • gore
  • cannibalism
  • themes of grief

Tade Thompson is the author of Rosewater, which was the winner of the 2019 Arthur C. Clarke Award, inaugural winner of the Nommo Award and a John W. Campbell finalist. He has written a trilogy set in the world of Rosewater and is working on a space opera. His Shirley Jackson Award-shortlisted novella The Murders of Molly Southbourne has recently been optioned for screen adaptation. Born in London to Yoruba parents, he lives and works on the south coast of England where he battles an addiction to books. (from Orbit)

Amazon UK
Waterstones

Book Review

I’m still fairly new to sci-fi as a genre and my experiences have been hit and miss. This one was very much a hit with me.

What I loved most about Far From the Light of Heaven is that every single time I thought I knew what the book was or where it was going, something happened that knocked me off my feet. There were so many perfectly executed twists that made me scream “WHAT?!?” out loud. It’s a little bit surreal but I kind of like that… (And maybe you do too?)

As the author briefly mentions, this isn’t quite a space opera although it definitely feels like one at times. The interpersonal relationships between this found family onboard a doomed spaceship were another highlight. These characters are well developed. Flawed, vulnerable and all deeply compelling.

My only grievance is that because so much is happening, I felt like I didn’t fully understand certain bits? Especially towards the end.

Overall, Far From the Light of Heaven is a gripping sci-fi mystery that I highly recommend to fans of both genres. While it’s not strictly a read-alike for All Systems Red by Martha Wells, I will also recommend it to readers who loved Murderbot because spoiler alert: there are definitely MURDERBOTS in Thompson’s novel. There’s a lot of overlap in terms of both having thrilling action-based plots, diverse and complex characters, space exploration and AIs. So yeah, it’s not EXACTLY the same but I think there’s enough there to recommend it anyway.

Hayley @ Cosy Chapters

Thanks so much for reading! If you’ve enjoyed my content, please consider supporting me via the links below.

TwitterInstagramTikTokGoodreadsWishlist

Follow Cosy Chapters on WordPress.com

Featured Image Background: Calwaen Liew from Unsplash

Hayley

I'm Hayley (she/her) and I'm more than a little bit bookish. Cosy Chapters is where I share all things book-related plus the occasional post about the cosy lifestyle. When I'm not reading, you'll find me spending time with my little family, rewatching sitcoms, planning the now somewhat elusive trip to Disneyland Paris and losing entire days playing ACNH.

All posts

3 Comments

  • Lauren December 7, 2021 at 12:21 pm

    I haven’t heard of this before. This sounds really interesting. You have shared a great review! Thank you for sharing.

    Lauren – bournemouthgirl

  • Jodie | That Happy Reader December 7, 2021 at 2:31 pm

    This book sounds great for the sci-fi readers in my life! Great review! Thanks for sharing.

  • Not-So-Modern-Girl December 7, 2021 at 4:34 pm

    It’s a shame when books are too confusing, but I’m glad this one was interesting for you. Great review!

  • Leave a Reply

    Welcome to Cosy Chapters!

    I'm Hayley (she/her) and I'm more than a little bit bookish.

    Cosy Chapters is where I share all things book-related plus the occasional post about the cosy lifestyle.

    When I'm not reading, you'll find me spending time with my little family, rewatching sitcoms, planning the now somewhat elusive trip to Disneyland Paris and losing entire days playing ACNH.

    Follow Cosy Chapters on WordPress.com

    Let's Connect!

    @cosychapters

    Archives

    ×